BLACK HERITAGE COUNCIL BOARD

The Black Heritage Council of the Alabama Historical Commission was instrumental in the founding of the Southeast Region African American Preservation Alliance which sought to align groups across the region with advising the National Trust for Historic Preservation on the preservation of African American historic places in the Trust’s southern region.

Chair

Ms. Frazine Taylor

4185 Tandy Drive Montgomery, AL 36106

334-467-2726

Frazine.taylor@att.net

Vice-Chair

Mr. Elvin D. Lang

1409 South Court Street Montgomery, AL 36104

334-269-0994

Elvindlang@bellsouth.net

Chair Emeritus & Founding Member

Ms. Louretta Wimberly

3007 North Broad Street Selma, AL 36701

334-875-5894

lcwimberly@bellsouth.net

Congressional District 1

Vacant

Congressional District 2

Mrs. Sangernetta Gilbert-Bush

2018 Cahaba Drive Montgomery, AL 36108

334-269-9142 

sgbcongd@aol.com

Congressional District 3

Vacant

Congressional District 4

Vacant

Congressional District 5

Mrs. Sharon Gilbreath-Heard

P. O. Box 445 Madison, AL 35758

256-337-1426

stewssw@bellsouth.net

Congressional District 6

Mrs. Debra Harton Love

7324 Pinetree Lane Fairfield, AL 35064

205-540-2806

dhllab@aol.com  

Congressional District 7

Mrs. Emma Jean Melton

5003 Fourth Avenue Tuscaloosa, AL 35405

205-758-6800

jmelton11@comcast.net  

Collegiate Community Representatives

Dr. Paul B. Mohr, Sr.

P.O. Box 302000 Montgomery, AL 36130-2000

334-242-2209 

Paul.Mohr@ache.alabama.gov

Dr. Howard O. Robinson, III

3231 North Colonial Drive Montgomery, AL 36111

334-229-4491 

hrobinson@alasu.edu

Public Institution Representatives

Ms. Sanquenetta Thompson

Station 35 Livingston, AL 35470

205-652-3408

sthompson@uwa.edu

Brandon A. Owens

43 North Anton Drive, Montgomery, AL 36105

615-668-1294

Brandon_alexander_owens@yahoo.com

Vacant 

State Members-at-Large

Atty. Lateefah Muhammad

P.O. Box 1096 Tuskegee Institute, AL 36087

334-727-1997

lateefahmuhammad@aol.com

Mrs. Roamelia Blackburn

3423 Tall Pines Circle Tuscaloosa, AL 35405

205-553-3146

roameliablackburn@gmail.com

Mrs. Georgia Calhoun

2150 Old Choccolocco Road Anniston, AL 36207

256-236-2497

georgia_calhoun@yahoo.com

Mr. Elvin D. Lang

1409 South Court Street Montgomery, AL 36104

334-269-0994

Elvindlang@bellsouth.net

Thomas L. Coley, Jr.

2316 North Central Avenue, Kellyton, AL 35089

256-212-9316

TLC68@bellsouth.net