BLACK HERITAGE COUNCIL BOARD

The Black Heritage Council, founded in 1983 as an advisory board to the Alabama Historical Commission, advocates for the protection, preservation, and interpretation of historic African American places in Alabama. The Council consists of a 25-member board of volunteers that represent various regions of the state as well as institutions important to helping the board carry out its mission.

Chair

Atty. Lateefah Muhammad

P.O. Box 1096

Tuskegee Institute, AL 36087

bhcchairlateefah@gmail.com

 

Vice-Chair

Mr. Elvin D. Lang, Member-at-large

1409 South Court Street

Montgomery, AL 36104

Elvindlang@bellsouth.net

 

Chair Emeritae

Ms. Louretta Wimberly, Member-at-large

3007 North Broad Street

Selma, AL 36701

lcwimberly@bellsouth.net

 

Ms. Frazine Taylor, Member-at-large

4185 Tandy Drive

Montgomery, AL 36106

Frazine.taylor@att.net

 

Congressional District 1

Dr. Joycelyn A. Finley

University Commons 3702

307 University Boulevard North

Mobile, AL 36688

jfinley@southalabama.edu  

Congressional District 2

Mrs. Sangernetta Gilbert-Bush

2018 Cahaba Drive

Montgomery, AL 36108

sgbcongd@aol.com

Congressional District 3

Dr. Kwesi Daniels    

Tuskegee University, Wilcox Building C, Room 115

Tuskegee, AL 36088

kdaniels@tuskegee.edu

Congressional District 4

Mrs. Ethel Alexander

215 Wooley Road

Hanceville, AL 35077

ethelalexander2@gmail.com

Congressional District 5

Mr. Joseph A. Lee

5104 Sunrise Trail

Huntsville, AL 35810

josephadamlee@gmail.com

Congressional District 6

Mrs. Debra Harton Love

7324 Pinetree Lane

Fairfield, AL 35064

dhllab@aol.com  

Congressional District 7

Mrs. Emma Jean Melton

5003 Fourth Avenue

Tuscaloosa, AL 35405

jmelton11@comcast.net  

Collegiate Community Representatives

Dr. Paul B. Mohr, Sr.

P.O. Box 302000

Montgomery, AL 36130-2000

Paul.Mohr@ache.alabama.gov

 

Dr. Howard O. Robinson, II

3231 North Colonial Drive

Montgomery, AL 36111

hrobinson@alasu.edu

 

Ms. Sanquenetta Thompson

Station 45

Livingston, AL 35470

sthompson@uwa.edu

 

Alabama Historical Commission Member Representative

Thomas L. Coley, Jr., Member-at-large

2316 North Central Avenue

Kellyton, AL 35089

TLC68@bellsouth.net 

 

State Members-at-Large

Mrs. Roamelia Blackburn

3423 Tall Pines Circle

Tuscaloosa, AL 35405

roameliablackburn@gmail.com

 

Mrs. Georgia Calhoun

P.O. Box 62

Choccolocco, AL 36254

georgia_calhoun@yahoo.com

 

Phoenicia "Phoenix" Robinson

3002 Flag Circle, Apt. 2610

Madison AL 35758

pdrobinson@yahoo.com